Showing posts with label NFL. Show all posts
Showing posts with label NFL. Show all posts

Saturday, April 24, 2010

I think a chainsaw for a hand would be invaluable in the NFL trenches

Here's a screen capture from this morning's Pro Football Talk headlines:



Bruce Campbell not drafted? The Chin?

You're telling me that an NFL team couldn't use the wily, mojito-soaked support of Sam Axe? The laconic smarts, furious fists and upstanding heroics of Brisco County Jr.? The manic, never-say-die evil fighting of one Ash Williams?

Listen up, you primitive screwheads, you must draft Bruce Campbell.

What about the Broncos? After all, the first time little Timmy Tebow gathers the players for a prayer circle, wouldn't this make a perfect response:
"Well hello Mister Fancypants. Well, I've got news for you pal, you ain't leadin' but two things, right now: Jack and shit... and Jack left town."
Or when little Timmy loses his first game:
"That's it, go ahead and run. Run home and cry to mama!"
What about the Jets? Who can forget Joe Namath with Suzy Kolber? I think Bruce would have fared better:
"Gimmee some sugar, baby."
Or the Colts? Calling an audible at the line like Peyton Manning?
"Look, maybe I didn't say every single little tiny syllable, no. But basically I said them, yeah."
Or the Rams? As an offensive lineman, protecting Sam Bradford?
"Maybe. Just maybe my boys can protect the (QB). Yeah, and maybe I'm a Chinese jet pilot. "

C'mon, NFL GMs. Make the right decision:
"Alright. Who wants some?"

Maybe not the Raiders. Al Davis looks too much like a Deadite.

Monday, October 26, 2009

To our friends across the pond....Sorry.

Sure there was that little matter of "taxation without representation." But recently, the English have given us Spaced, The Office, Shaun of the Dead, Doctor Who and Torchwood. And we send them the Tampa Bay Buccaneers? For shame. Even if you factor in the Beckhams and the remake of Coupling, that just doesn't seem fair. But the Brits weren't the only ones to watch some terrible pigskin.

This was just an awful weekend of football. My alma mater (mercifully) didn't play, the SEC games were close but uninspiring (and again marred by horrific officiating), the remaining college contests were lackluster, the NFL was full of (mostly) uninteresting blowouts and the Falcons got their ass kicked by the Cowpokes. And this was before my brilliant apartment groundskeeper tried to remove my satellite dish just prior to kickoff (fortunately, I noticed the signal go blank and was able to run down to the street as he was putting the fucking dish in his van). Plus, in my fantasy league, I have Eli Manning and Tony Romo as QBs, and the only way to ensure a statistically superlative performance by one is to pick the other to start for me.

Also, Monday Night Football looks like a terrible matchup, with Ron Mexico wandering one sideline, and on the other, a guy calling plays who only a couple of weeks ago was yelling out "B-31!" in a bingo parlor. And this on a night when House, Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother take the evening off.

Sigh.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

I'll take potpourri for $5,800, Alex

io9 has a good summary of "Evil Corporations." I actually have t-shirts for Blue Sun, Weyland-Yutani and Cyberdyne Systems. (I wanted to link to the video from the Angel episode "Harm's Way," with featured a Wolfram & Hart new employee orientation video, but I couldn't find it online. In it, you see that the evil law firm represents many of the companies listed here. Funny stuff).

MoMass has seen his draft stock improve lately. Good for him. I think he'll make a very good possession receiver in the NFL. (And good god, he did everything -- except make a tackle -- to keep us in that last regular season game of which we shall not speak). Several folks put him now with the Bears.

Awwwwww.

Some good behind the scenes stuff from Mo Ryan on CSI's totally geektastic episode on Thursday. And Hodges? I don't care how much you love your job, if Wendy wants you to come over to watch sci-fi, the answer is always YES.

Coverage of Dollhouse at last week's PaleyFest.

Hilarious! "Uncomfortable Plot Summaries".

Empire looks at 5 shows that should be movies. Good ideas, no?

Jane Espenson talks to AMC about Caprica. On DVD next week, right?

Brian Austin Green talks to CBR about T:TSCC. Prison Break did even worse than TSCC and Dollhouse on Friday. Good news for our favorite sci-fi shows? Or does this just mean FOX will go back to cheap reality crap there?

I was gonna complain about morons scheduling their lives around fictional characters, but then remembered that I needed to be home on a Friday night to find out what happened to Starbuck and Baltar.

TWOP's "Supporting Characters that we Hate." Randy Jackson and Mohinder. One has exquisite command of the English language and one has a "word a day" calendar that only runs for 3 weeks, yet neither says anything comprehensible. And here are their Best Sidekicks. (I think personally, Cameron and Sam & Fi would be most useful).

Den of Geek lists Top 10 English psychopaths in American movies.

A chat with Johnny Galecki of Big Bang Theory.

Chuck Lorre's title card addresses the current economic downturn. With references to Skynet and Cylons.

Awesome Toby Ng charts
. And I feel better about my place in the flame.

More about HIMYM with Mo Ryan.

And now, a quick break for politics:
  • I understand the frustration behind the tea parties, but the loonies turning out aren't doing the excessive taxation movement any favors.
  • Anti-equality bigot Maggie Gallagher, the "brains" behind the idiotic "gathering storm" video, seems tone deaf in more ways than one. This is funny.
  • National Review recently had a stupefying and intolerant editorial against equality. Several thoughts on that are here, here and here.
  • Newsweek looks at the "end of Christian America."
  • On the same subject, Hitchens completely dismantles some poor stammering boob.
Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

Coach Richt is in it for the long haul. I say "huzzah."


Cinematical lists & TV Stars Who Should Be In More Movies.

Jason Whitlock speaks the truth about "The Answer."

Most quotable movies?

Forbes looks at what TV shows make the most money.

Lots of pop culture "last suppers." (h/t Pop Candy)

Saturday, January 31, 2009

I'll take potpourri for $4,800, Alex

ESPN went through one of their typically hyperbolic "ranking" processes, though this one got less pub than their "Mt. Rushmore" or "Who's Now" nonsense, to determine the "Prestige Rankings" of various college football programs. According to their system, UGA ranked 14th.

TWOP has a good recount of the comedies and dramadies that were cancelled way before their time. A sad list.

The NYT has a nice look at Adam Baldwin (Chuck's Casey, Firefly's Jayne).

JJ Abrams talks to the LA Times about the new Trek. Part 1 here, Part 2 here.

Ray Lewis says his free agency plans are in the hands of god now
. No word on whether or not the big guy upstairs will chat with afterlife denizens Jacinth Baker and Richard Lollar to get their take on the particulars of the LB's contract negotiations.

A question from Bill Simmons latest ESPN chat:
Tommy Hawk (Crozet, VA): Is it just me or have Juliet's "hoo-ha's" gotten bigger through these seasons of Lost? If this is a side-effect of time travel, then there are going to be a lot of women risking the nose bleeds and finding themselves a "constant" to get on this island!
An astute observation. Yet another reason to love Juliet.

Extraterrestrial Roman Empires. (As a kid, I had a hardbound copy of that "Trigan Empire" comic collection. It was pretty damned cool).

DawgSports looks at breaking out the black jerseys in the future. For the record, I voted "Only games against major rivals should be blacked out, and then only on special occasion"

Could some craptacular Gulliver's Travels movie keep the delectable Emily Blunt out of Black Widow's spandex? Noooooo!

One more reason to love the oh-so adorable Jenna Fischer. She calls the message indicator on her CrackBerry the "red light of love."

The Weather Channel founder weighs in again on the "global warming" scam.

One of TV's best shows, The Middleman, coming to DVD!

Cute! Guess the Lego movie star.

A look at the hottest women of Star Trek. Some interesting choices in there, but I don't agree with their number 1 selection (if the list isn't topped by the reason we have a President O, then the list isn't entirely valid).

Finebaum's takedown of Hello Kiffykins.

The Daily Beast talks to Joss Whedon about Dollhouse.

Mo Ryan previews Monday's 3-D Chuck. Look, I like The Office. But don't we think that several years in, it's as big as it's going to get? Wouldn't it be better to give the post Super Bowl slot to a show that's a bit of an undiscovered gem, and could use the boost? Like Chuck, for example?

Good films by supposedly bad directors.

AWESOME "chart porn" from io9 on how to create your own original Star Trek adventure.

A funny look at how to write a Super Bowl story, depending on your forum.

TV Guide's favorite Sawyer nicknames.

No matter which way you take it, I'm buying what she's selling.

Please, please spare me this drivel during the game. Does Odin care who wins the game? Does Zeus? Does Anubis? The Flying Spaghetti Monster? However, I think Garuda might be pulling for the Cardinals.

Japanese Watchmen toys. Adorable. (which is kinda funny, given the nihilistic and dark tone of the book).

More ridiculous pandering and posturing and wasting of taxpayer dollars
from our elected officials. (Isn't there a little bit more to be preoccupied with now?!) To save the children!! Look, does anyone think this noise would be loud enough to actually be heard? Or that regular (non "noise making") cameras wouldn't be used for "nefarious" purposes? Or that video couldn't be used instead? Jesus Tittyfucking Christ, this kind of stuff makes me understand the terrorists.

Stewart Mandel looks back at the high school QB class of 2005. (Joe Cox was number 6, BTW).

An unbelievably fun look at 1970s sci-fi. How many do you recognize?

Are these the ugliest uniforms known to man? Even worse the the Vols, Gators or Clemson?

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Win and in!

Thanks to an epic FAIL last night from Jessica Simpson's boyfriend and his overrated, whiny, batshit narcissist WR (with god looking down through the roof!), the Falcons control their own playoff destiny just one year removed from losing their dog-killing QB to jail and having their limp-dicked coward of a coach quit on them during the season, all while starting a rookie signal caller, with a first-time head coach on the sidelines. AMAZING.

The hapless Rams are the last game of the season (at home) for the Birds, so that makes today's tilt against the Vikings a virtual play-in. Critical game against the Vikes? Bring back any memories?

It probably does for the patrons of The Walleye.
"99 NFC Championship Game?"
Slams fist on bar.
"Damn!"
Sadly, I couldn't find any pictures of Robin Scherbatsky in a Vikings jersey.

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

The most hated man in San Diego is a geek.

By now, most sports fans have heard about the bizarre ending to Sunday's Chargers - Broncos game. A quick recap: with time running down, and Denver trailing by a touchdown, Broncos QB Jay Cutler dropped back to pass and had the ball "fall out" of his throwing hand. The referee blew the whistle, so even though San Diego recovered the ball -- AND it was reviewed on instant replay -- the ball could not be awarded to the Chargers. The Broncos subsequently scored a TD and a 2-point conversion (!) to win the game. Much drama and hand-wringing ensued, which you can read about here. And here. And here.

Bottom line: referee Ed Hochuli made a bad call -- a mistake -- by blowing the whistle. The rules and system in place wouldn't allow that mistake to be corrected, and what should have been a Chargers win turned into a Denver win (Denver still had to score the TD, and still had to win it on a ballsy call for a 2-point conversion, instead of the kick and journey into OT).

That's what's consumed the discussion of the game, and of Hochuli, for the past couple of days. However, I was going to write a blog post about Hochuli anyway -- but BEFORE the Denver - San Diego game. Hochuli is one of those refs that most people who watch a lot of football know by name, or at least by appearance. You see, he's pushing 60 years old, yet still works out like a demon and has a "set of guns." But I heard his name Friday, when I was doing some cleaning up around the house, and listening to the "Lost Podcast with Jay and Jack."

What does a Lost podcast have to do with NFL refs? Well, in addition to being an NFL ref and practicing attorney, it seems Hochuli is also a big Lost geek. The podcast features a segment called "listener feedback," where folks call in and leave messages about the show and podcast. There was a long, rambling and funny message from "Ed," who called to bust the hosts' chops about a variety of topics, including their (in)ability to get into the Lost session at Comic-Con. If I recall correctly, Hochuli and his brother may have actually camped out the night before to make sure they got to the head of the line and got into the Lost session (or at the very least, were planning to that for next year's session). An irony of Hochuli's involvement with the Lost podcast gang is that Jack is from San Diego, and a die-hard Chargers fan.

I'm sure Ed wishes he could turn a frozen donkey wheel right now, or have Daniel Faraday visit him sometime toward the end of the 4th quarter last Sunday and tell him to "not blow the whistle."

Friday, August 29, 2008

I'll take potpourri for $2,700, Alex

Has Chad Johnson actually changed his legal name to "Ocho Cinco?" That's bizarre, and just plain funny.

SI offers up their writer predictions on the college football season. Dawg-related:
  • 7 writers, only 2 see UGA in the title game. 3 see us in the Sugar. Only Andy Staples predicts a Dawgs national championship ("They may be a trendy pick, but the Bulldogs have all the elements of a championship team -- including the brutal schedule.")
  • One picks ASU as a "flop," citing a porous O line. That bodes well for Willie's boys.
  • Beanie Wells and Jorts Jesus seem to be the Heisman favorites, but one writer throws this in there: "Trocchi: Matthew Stafford, QB, Georgia. The Bulldogs' signal-caller has the weapons he needs to fulfill his enormous potential."
  • In "Next Household Name," no one mentions AJ Green. I hope they're wrong.
Before the first ep of the second season has aired, NBC picks up the full season of Chuck. Hell yeah!

Speaking of the Chuckster, here's a fantastic interview with creator Josh Schwartz.

One of my most anticipated new shows of the fall is HBO's True Blood. Check out this interview with Alan Ball.

ESPN's Chris Low on the 25 things he's looking forward to about SEC football. Nice touch to start the list with Munson.

Biden is even further left on taxes than the chosen One. For all the people getting quivery over this, who the hell do they think creates and sustains the jobs for the middle class? Oh yeah, the folks that the Donkeys want to tax into oblivion. I'm sure that will work out in the long run. (and in order to be "fair and balanced," I loathe the theocratic flat earthers on the right, too. They just want to steal less of my money. Yikes. This whole two party system is making me nauseous. Thank Zeus football season is here for a distraction).

I had no idea that the "new" James T. Kirk is being played by Robert Pine's son. I knew the names were the same, of course, but didn't realize they were related. Robert Pine is a veteran character actor that's been around doing good work forever, but I remember him most as the Sergeant on CHIPS.

Top 10 fictional sports.

Tidbits about Woody Allen at the box office. I saw Vicky Christina Barcelona this week, and it was fantastic.

"Hey! Teacher! Leave those kids alone!" Great title for an article about awful fictional educators. Features many recognizable and touchstone characters, including Synder from Buffy.

This take on Dancing With The Stars cracks me up. And if they actually go through with having Ted McGinley, does that mean the show will get cancelled before they crown a winner? Only casting the adorable Paula Marshall could doom it more.

The Dude still abides.

Recap of Mad Men's "Three Sundays" episode. Money Quote: "I want Sally to make all of my drinks for me. 9% tomato juice, 91% booze. " Perhaps the only valid argument for reproduction I've heard.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Only time will tell if these things should be handled sober

Remember last year, when I thought my fantasy football draft was a bloody mary soaked debacle?

This year was different. Instead of 27 pitchers of bloodies and panicky trades, I approached this year's draft loaded up on nothing but 3 pots of coffee. I'm not sure that the results will differ that much, as many things need to break my way to have a successful season, but I'm reasonably pleased with my team, given my drafting position.

At the end of the 2007 campaign, my squad (dubbed Area 51) won the "AFFL Bowl" head to head championship, and I finished fourth overall in total points, just a c-hair out of the money (3rd place: 579.78; me: 579.44).

Since we play in a keeper league, of course I retained the services of the visored one, Fantasy Hall of Famer LaDanian Tomlinson, with my first pick. After that, it was a crap shoot. Here is this year's team:

2008 Area 51











QB Carson Palmer Bengals
QB Matt Leinart Cards
RB LT Chargers
RB Kevin Smith Lions
RB Ray Rice Ravens
RB Andre Hall Broncos
WR Laverneus Coles Jets
WR Roddy White Falcons
WR Santana Moss Redskins
TE Jeremy Shockey Saints
TE Kevin Boss Giants
D Seahawks
D Texans
K Jason Elam Falcons
K Mike Nugent Jets

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Well, that only took 16 years

So let's see. You're building a huge new domed stadium, that's going to house the local NFL franchise. The NFL team's colors are red and black, with some occasional accents of white and silver/grey. Oh, and the flagship university in the same state has the same primary color scheme, too. So back in 1992, what hues do you use to adorn your new multi-million dollar facility? Mauve, teal, and peach, of course.

WTF?

I realize things sometimes take a while to get to the south, but Miami Vice was canceled in 1989.

For comparison's sake, peep the new Cowboys stadium. Jerry Jones isn't doing his shiny new toy in mustard, avocado and periwinkle.

Now, after 16 years, the Georgia Dome will be unveiling a slick new paint job that actually reflects the color palette of the primary occupants. Check out the glorious red and black here.

Could this be good juju for a certain university's run toward an SEC Championship, which just happens to be played in the same (now red & black) building?

Saturday, December 29, 2007

But Judas would give the signals to Mangini...

In preparation for tonight's showdown between the perfect Pats and the Giants, D End Osi Umenyiora said Brady and the 15-0 Patriots are not "Jesus Christ and his 12 disciples."

An interesting thought, sure. And while a deity might be able to put up 158.3 passer ratings, effortlessly toss TDs to Randy Moss and date Giselle Bundchen, I don't think this theory holds water on the gridiron. Even if Judas was off the field squealing about the secretive taping of signals, that would still put a man too many breaking the huddle and consistently draw a penalty.

Monday, December 24, 2007

Music Videos, Monday Night Football and Dead Grapes! Wheeeee!

Back before I became a "real" blogger, with literally dozens of bored interweb readers, I used to hammer away at the keyboard on my myspace blog. One of those entries from a year or so ago chronicled my way through VH-1's countdown of the "100 Greatest Songs of the 80s." I had lots of opinions and memories as we counted down, given that the 80s were probably the high point of my life, and music played in important role in my formative years and served as the soundtrack to life. Yeah, pretty much downhill since.

The 90s were kind of a blur of work, bad relationships, professional ambition and way too many nights in Buckhead. But still, that's the last time I really paid attention to pop music, before it became all about song credits with "featuring" in the title; I discovered DirecTV where you could actually select the genre of song you wanted to hear; and listening to the radio became about acquiring information on sports, news and politics (thanks, Sam!).

So tonight, I'm going to work my way through the recently aired VH-1's Greatest Songs of the 90s. I doubt I'll finish, as I'm already on bottle of wine number 2 and have to keep up with the critical Monday Night Football game. Well, critical only if you have Jay Cutler and LT playing for your fantasy team, and you're in the championship game of your fantasy league. (Pass, Broncos! Run, Chargers!). But I'll start the process and finish sometime soon, thanks to the miracle of TiVo.

In a series of posts following this one, I'll cover the Greatest Songs of the 90s special and offer thoughts, recollections and insights into the insipid yet memorable tunes/videos of the last decade. Pour yourself another drink and remember along with me, as we enter the Wayback Machine and set the dial for 1990.

Random Dawg Update

Perhaps it's been the distractions of relocating, moving, packing, fighting with Comcast and mourning the loss of scripted television, or maybe being without my beloved NFL Sunday Ticket until a couple of weeks ago, but I've been a bit clueless about the location of some of my favorite DGDs (Damn Good Dawgs).

I didn't realize that Verron Haynes (or Vernon Hayes, according to nonsensical football analyst, famous spittle slinger, Irene Ryan lookalike and GOB Bluth wannabe Lou Holtz) was NOT part of the Steelers this year. However, with Fast Willie Parker becoming Not Really Very Speedy At All Willie Parker, the Steelers have signed Mr. P-44 himself.

I had also heard that David Greene (Winningest College QB Ever tm: 42-10) wasn't part of the SeaPigeons anymore, either. Was this because they traded for Charlie Frye (college record: 21-25)? Or did this happen before? However, 14 is part of the KC Chiefs practice squad.

This probably isn't "news" to anyone except me, but nice to see the DGDs gainfully employed.

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Prince didn't perform at halftime...




...but we are closing in on the end of the AFFL Bowl, my fantasy league championship. Yes, I know everyone has been hanging on the edge of your seats during whatever important holiday rituals you share with friends and family in order to receive this critical update.

With only two "real" football games left this week, numbers have been put on the board and it's down to a few crucial performers to bring a trophy to Maryland. Or not.

My opponent has 22.20 points, with only Redskins TE Chris Cooley left to play tonight.

My team, Area 51, has 19.60 points, with Jay Cutler (The best 'dore since Jim Morrison!) and LT suiting up tomorrow night.

It's been a rather lackluster championship. I got virtually nothing from Plaxico Burress and Heath Miller. My opponent had Willis McGahee (ouchie! won't make the locals happy). Add up the production from those three and you don't even have a single point. Yoiks.

But I got solid efforts from LenDale "Golden Corral" White, Andre Johnson and a feisty Jags D (Hey, Al Davis, thanks for playing Jamarcus!).

And my best wishes go out to the Freebirds, playing in the Thunder Chicken Super Bowl this weekend. I don't know all of his team, but he did indicate that Brett Favre needed to have a big day. Oooops. Let's hope for surprise performers!

Saturday, December 15, 2007

Suddenly, it's okay to be a Duke fan

The old coaching carousel keeps spinning. The childcare provider for the Manning family and noted Bulldog-whipping OC David Cutcliffe is leaving the sideline shadow of Phat Phil and taking over as head coach at Duke. Duke football has always been an afterthought, except for a brief period under Darth Visor (before he turned to the Dark Side of the Force, and fully blossomed into the Evil Genius, and then became another laughingstock pro reject, then settling into his current role as Head Ball Cock for a .500 team watching bowl games on television). Despite the fact that Coach Cut engineered many wins over the Dawgs during his tenures in carrot-eating-baby-diaper-shit-orange, I've always respected his game planning, play calling and the fact that he got unbelievably canned by the hubris-filled Powers That Be in The Grove, who inexplicably overestimated their place in the football universe.

While I enjoy the fact that this should this diminish the offensive prowess of the Rocky Tops in the short term, I'm also cautiously concerned that it could hasten The Great Pumpkin's eventual exile from the banks of the Tennessee. UT has great resources, and I'd hate to see a bright young up and comer take the reigns there. However, I'm sure foodservice operators who run all you can eat buffets would welcome the increase in their profit margins should Phil be kicked to the curb.

Bonus? It adds another team to the list of programs that can hang a loss on the Jackets.

I was traveling during the great Bobby Petrino Debacle, and just about everything that could be said on the subject already has. Bottom line: while this insufferable, amoral weasel knows his college Xs and Os, he just wasn't cutting it in the pro game. As one of the few long-suffering Falcons fans who didn't just jump on the bandwagon during the Ron Mexico days, I'm hoping that all involved can put this torturous season behind us and start fresh by making the *right* hire this time. I hate having Petrino's O in the SEC (but hey, good luck with Casey Dick!) where it might come back to bite UGA, but it just adds to the embarrassment of coaching talent riches currently in the World's Greatest Conference. But by the time he implements his system and finds a QB to run it, he'll already be looking for the next BBD like an uneducated Columbus hooker. One of the best Petrino takedowns I've read is from former Louisville resident and ESPN writer Pat Forde.

And finally, is it possible that someone high profile will actually sign up to lose to Ohio State once a year?

Aldo Nova was right.

Remember back when I drafted my fantasy team? And how I thought I was destined for one of the worst records in the league?

Turns out the season wasn't quite as bad as I thought it was going to be originally. LT finally started to look like LT, LenDale White kept the starting job and put up decent numbers, Cutler stabilized, Andre Johnson came back at just the right time, Plax didn't practice (cue Allen Iverson soundbite) but kept getting into the end zone and Nick Folk puts 'em through the uprights. So after a drop off in the middle of the season, I rallied toward the end and found myself 8 - 5, and in the first round of the playoffs. Last week, I blitzed my first round opponent and put up a 50+ effort (great score in my league) and also won the "total points" prize for the week. This puts me in fourth place for "total points" for the year and within shouting distance of 3rd place. However, my second round playoff matchup puts me against a team with Tom Brady at QB. Given the love and respect between the Jets and Pats (and The Hoodie and The Mangenius), I expect Brady to throw for 12 TDs and bury me early. I can only hope that the blizzard expected to hit the northeast slows down the Pats prolific aerial attack and keeps the game within reach.

Still, not a bad result after I wasted a third round pick on Brandon Jackson (who? look for the RB on milk cartons soon) and vodka-ed my way through the draft.

Saturday, October 20, 2007

In contrast, a pet friendly environment!

Michael Vick's Atlanta home is for sale.

What a coincidence. So is mine! Mine has one less bedroom, the same number of fireplaces, and I'll let it go for several million dollars less.

Other differences:
  • Mine is pet friendly, and does not include any "rape stands."
  • I don't have a Matt Schaub dartboard in the game room.
  • No doormats inscribed with "Ookey."
  • My detached garage isn't painted flat black.
  • No warrants ever served at my place (if only because bill-avoiding trollops are good at staying "off the grid.")
  • "Mexico" was a vacation destination from my house, not an alias for the inhabitants of the house.
  • Taxes are way, way less at my place.
  • Marcus Vick never waved a gun at the neighborhood McDonalds.
  • I don't have an Aquafina bottle safe for valuables.

Monday, September 17, 2007

LaDanian Tomlinson made me watch the Emmys

I know that I usually make Emmy and Oscar predictions. But the truth is, I can barely sit through the insipid, self-congratulatory, overly long and often shockingly unfunny awards shows just to see if my prognostications come true. I really hadn't planned on watching the Emmys last night. After all -- Seacrest! I would just look at an online list of winners this morning, update my spreadsheet, and revel in the fact that I had correctly predicted the winners in all the major categories. (Or not. 20%. Argh. I think I did better picking the 0-2 Saints to get to the Super Bowl. Or a Norv Turner coached team to win it. Norv Fucking Turner! How's that looking for me now?)

But as the night crept on, I was checking my fantasy football scores and noticed that I had a slight lead in my head to head matchup. I was ahead by a couple of points, and had LT going for me. My erstwhile competitor had New England's kicker, TE (UGAer Ben Watson) and Defense. Surely the fantasy football god that is LT would outscore two typically obscure points scoring positions and the NE D, right? I could watch the game and enjoy my victory and not worry about the Emmys. After all, Bill Belichick wasn't watching the Emmys -- he was taping them! (rim shot - try the veal and tip your servers. I'll be here all week).

Well, in just a few minutes of game time, LT was repeatedly stopped, Watson caught a touchdown pass, NE treated Phillip Rivers like a side-arm throwing pinata and the D picked off a pass and ran it back for a frakkin' touchdown. Fuck. Helllooooo, Seacrest.

I need Shaun Suisham (who? right) to kick four 50 yard field goals tonight.

There are reviews all over the interwebs about how awful the Emmys were, and I won't blather on with the same sentiment. There were only a few chuckle worthy moments: Jon Stewart and Steven Colbert (with Steve Carrell), Rainn Wilson in an overlong skit with Kanye West, John Locke speaking wistfully about Wisteria Lane, Tina Fey, and Elaine Stritch being old, ornery and funny. Mostly, I was just aghast at the choices and the winners. HERE is what should have happened with the nominations. HERE is where I picked the "should wins, will wins." Obviously, I don't have a vote. Apparently, neither does anyone else except James Spader's family.

What I got right and was happy with: The Sopranos.

What I got right and didn't much care either way: America Ferrera.

What I got wrong and didn't care much either way: Ricky Gervais.

What I got wrong, and was happy about: Terry O'Quinn. Locke didn't have as much to do as Ben this year on Lost, but O'Quinn has been solid as a rock in everything he's done for years, and John Locke is one of my absolute favorites on the island. Plus, he was classy and funny and deserving. I wanted and thought Jenna Fischer would win for The Office. But even though I wasn't enamored with the whole pregnancy storyline (which I hate on any and every show) on Earl this year, Jaime Pressley is hysterical as Joy. I still have "Joy's Wedding" stored on a Tivo somewhere in a box someplace around here. I also thought Ugly Betty would win best comedy, though I hoped The Office would take the trophy. But it was great that 30 Rock won, and Tina Fey's thank you to the "dozens and dozens" of viewers was classic. Hopefully, the Emmy will do this underviewed show more good than it did Arrested Development.

What I got wrong, and what the fuck? Spader. Look, I like James Spader, and he's been charismatic and funny and talented whenever I've caught Boston Legal. But even the award winner himself felt like he was "stealing the mob's money" with a triumph over Gandolfini, who did some of his best work this season. Did Alan Shore crunch a guy's face on a bar, American History-X style? Do peyote in Vegas? Pull his piece of shit son out of the pool where he tried to drown himself? Hold Captain Kirk's nose shut until he died? I don't think so. Sally Field? Over Kyra Sedgwick? Over Edie Falco? Huh? And Piven again? Isn't it time to show some love elsewhere? Hell, I would have even been happy giving the award to Johnny Drama instead of the more deserving Neil Patrick Harris or Rainn Wilson.

And whenever I turned off the tired awards show drivel to go back to the Sunday night game, there was Rivers getting sacked again and LT getting stuffed again. What a wasted Sunday night.

Even though I actually like a few of the Patriots, including Tom Brady, I found this post at Kissing Suzy Kolber funny. And disturbing, since it shows pictures of some of the worst leg injuries in recent sports history. Yikes! I need some brain bleach. (one prediction I won't miss: you'll grab your leg and say "shiiiiiiiit.")

Thursday, September 6, 2007

NFL Predictions

The season is mere moments away, and it's time for some TNRLM predictions. On the old "Accountability Scorecard," (yes, I keep a spreadsheet that tracks all my bloggy predictions on the Oscars, MLB, The Sopranos and other things) I'm hitting at a 60% clip. So, do with that knowledge what you will and gamble your kids' college funds accordingly.

NFC East: Reggie Brown plays here (Philly).
NFC South: I got drunk and saw my first stripper here at 15 (Nawlins).
NFC North: Rex Grossman is Teh Suck (Bears).
NFC West: I've never been to the pacific northwest, but think I might soon (Seattle).
Wild Cards: Like Georgia, but with bigger hats (Dallas), and they won a Super Bowl in my hometown, while I was wiggin' in Vegas (Rams).

AFC East: Their old helmet looked like Patrick Henry taking a shit (Pats).
AFC South: I really, really want to hate Peyton Manning. But I can't. He's too smart, too nice, and too good. But white on white unis still blow (Colts).
AFC North: I fucking live here, so I better pick 'em. Plus, you can't go wrong with or more uplifting than Poe (Ravens).
AFC West: My Fantasy Life depends on this (Chargers).
Wild Cards: I really should hate Cris Collinsworth, too, but I can't. He's my favorite analyst (Bengals). Jay Cutler, the best 'Dore since Jim Morrison (Denver).

Super Bowl: Chargers vs. Nawlins.

Super Bowl Champ: Chargers. Despite my better judgment on Norv Turner, I really think he'll pull a Switzer or a Gruden, and hoist the Lombardi with someone else's players.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Marshawn Lynch
Defensive Rookie of the Year: LaRon Landry
MVP: LT
Offensive Player of the Year: LT
Defensive Player of the Year: Shawne Merriman
Coach of the Year: Sean Payton

Sunday, August 26, 2007

Who the hell is Nick Folk? And I like tomatoes and vodka.

Yes, it's that time that everyone hangs on the edge of their seat for: reading about someone else's fantasy football team. While you may not be enthralled with the details, at least those of you who play the game can soldier on through the next few paragraphs, confident in the knowldege that your team, no matter who you picked, is probably better than mine.

Quick History: I play in a "keeper" league, where each year we can protect up to 3 players on the previous year's roster. Your "protection" acts as a draft pick, so typically, much of the first three rounds of the draft consists of owners selecting their "keepers." This prevents point scoring studs like Peyton Manning, Carson Palmer, Larry Johnson and Steven Jackson from entering the draft pool. However, in the first three rounds, all your protected players that you haven't yet drafted go back into the common pool if you take a player from the board not on your protected list. Several years ago, I scrapped my whole protected list and drafted LaDanian Tomlinson in the first round, Michael Vick in the second (both as rookies) and took Tiki Barber in the third (who then was known more for fumbling, before he became known for being a top 5 fantasy back, and before he became known for trading bon mots with Matt Lauer and insulting Eli Manning's cojones). This triumvirate was a solid, solid core and regularly put up enough points to get me comfortably into the playoffs, and brought me a playoff championship, a regular season points championship, a few runner up finishes and some serious cash. Well, we all know what happened in the offseason. LT is still LT, but Vick will now be starring in an off, off Broadway revival of "The Longest Yard" and Tiki retired because Tom Coughlin is mean, Brandon Jacobs poached his touchdowns and Eli is a pussy.

In the weeks leading up the draft, I panicked at the thought of not having a QB, so I traded a 6th round pick for Jay Cutler. My goal was to assemble another "trio" of talent that could carry me through several seasons, with LT, Cutler and then a young, stud RB. I had my sights set on 3 potential Tiki replacements: Marshawn Lynch, Adrian Peterson and the less well known Brandon Jackson. Surely with all the established, protected talent, I could get Lynch or Peterson in the third round. It didn't quite work out that way.

Here were the issues:
  • There were some "technical difficulties" with the wireless network at the live site of the draft (back home in Atlanta) and the first pick was delayed for 40+ minutes. (This did not sit well with my carefully timed and calibrated intake of pitchers of bloody marys).
  • These difficulties also led to the "protected list" not being fully loaded into the system, so it was harder to see who was actually available and when someone went "off the reservation" and cast their protected players back into the available pool.
  • I dramatically underestimated the desire some owners would have for Lynch and Peterson.
  • I dramatically underestimated the number of quality QBs that would be available in rounds 2 - 6, making my panicky move for a Vanderbilt Commodore seem even more desperate. Yet, I couldn't toss Cutler back into the common pool in the 2nd round to grab a RB, and essentially waste the pick I traded for him.
  • I finished second last year, so my pick was typically at the ass end of a round.
  • Did I mention the bloody marys?

So, bottom line, after two rounds, I was drunk, confused, anxious and filled with self-loathing and second guessing.

Of course, I kept LT -- perhaps the best NFL RB of his generation and on his way to Canton. He's also a fantasy scoring legend and probably the unanimous number 1 pick in leagues across the country. However, I kept Cutler (25th pick overall) and saw many other quality fantasy QBs available at the same time, including Mark Bulger, Jon Kitna, Phillip Rivers, Matt Hasselbeck and Matt Leinart. By protecting Cutler so early, I missed out on both Lynch and Peterson, and wound up taking Brandon Jackson as my second starting RB in the third round. The problem is, that's probably too early for him (I'll have to check other leagues to see his average draft position) AND he has the same fucking bye week as my other starter, LT. So in week 7, I'll have to rest both my starting RBs, play Len Dale White (who may not even be the starter in Tennessee -- and may have committed hari-kari at a Sizzler buffet by then) and some other RB that I pick up off the scrap heap.

Every time I had someone targeted for future potential (Calvin Johnson) or homer interests (Reggie Brown), the person 1 or 2 picks in front of me snagged them, sending me into a tizzy as I tried to A. find a replacement, B. not conflict with the numerous bye week problems I had caused myself and C. add just the right dash of Worcestershire sauce to the bloodies. On top of that, outside of LT (and maybe Cutler), there are huge question marks with each of my other starters.



Here is the 2007 Edition of Area 51:

QB: Jay Cutler (despite the trade and panic, I still feel good about his consistent production in a Mike Shanahan offense).
QB: Joey Harrington (at least I know he'll be starting. Who is going to take his job? Chris Redman? Plus, he'll be available to play the piano at weddings and bar mitzvahs).

RB: LT (stud)
RB: Brandon Jackson (same bye as LT. Under the radar rookie who could flourish in GB's system, providing Farve stays healthy and doesn't throw 39 picks, necessitating pass, pass, pass comebacks. But third round? Ye Gods.).
RB: Len Dale White (what will be his playing time? What's his attitude? And believe me -- he was actually the "best" available at pick 129, along with his Titan RB brethren).

WR: Andre Johnson (I had him last year, and he caught more balls than a Columbus stripper. But had few touchdowns, as David Carr had difficulty throwing into the end zone from his back and through the tears. Will Matt Schaub make a difference?)
WR: Plaxico Burress (despite his obvious physical gifts, I actually dislike his prima donna attitude and poor work ethic. But who else does Eli have to throw to -- besides the team in the other color jerseys, of course?)
WR: Kevin Curtis (have any of the "greatest show on turf" wonder receivers flourished outside that system? Az Hakim, anyone? Will McNabb stay healthy? I really wanted Reggie Brown here, but he got snagged)

TE: Heath Miller (how will "Steely McBeam's" new O-Coordinator feature the tight end?)
TE: Eric Johnson (will he even play? Hell, it was pick 180)

D: Jacksonville (put up good numbers, but will they stay healthy? How many picks will their corners have?)
D: Carolina (will they be the force up front they've always been? Can their secondary do anything? On the upside, they play Joey Harrington twice).

K: Josh Scobee (I'm okay with this).
K: Nick Folk (I have no idea who this is. Purportedly, he plays for Dallas. He was one selection away from being the AFFL "Mr. Irrelevant.")

So there you have it. I have LT, and a bunch of questions, desperation and hope. Like the "real" Area 51, it's a mystery and no one is quite sure of the contents. Good thing I perfected the mix for the bloody marys.

Saturday, August 25, 2007

We'll find the next Deion Sanders hidden in Lincoln Nebraska!

Gearing up for the fantasy draft, coffee in one hand and bloody mary in the other, what subject would be on my mind other than "draft busts?"

Here was an article I stumbled across recently outlining some of the all time worst draft busts. Yes, you'll see the usual collection of Penn State running backs and receivers picked by the Lions, but toward the end, there's another subset typically recalled only by scarred Falcons fans: cornerbacks taken by Atlanta out of Nebraska. Why anyone thought that CBs playing in a "run, run, run" program in a "run, run, run" conference would have NFL cover skills is beyond me.