Friday, October 31, 2008

Readin', Ritin' and Rithmatic? Fuck dat shit.

It seems that the proverbial "3 Rs" are taking a backseat to the Cocktail Party in the Classic City.

Call it a case of the Red and Black flu.

Tired of struggling to find enough teachers to staff its classrooms on the Friday before the annual Georgia-Florida football game, the Clarke County (Ga.) School District -- which includes Athens, home of the University of Georgia -- decided to cancel school altogether.

According to area media reports, 137 teachers last year called in sick the day before the big game, and the district was able to find only 113 substitutes
Priorities, people, priorities. That's your government indoctrination working for you.

If you follow the link to the story at the WWL, you can see a video with Mel Kiper and Todd McShay debating the merits of the game. While they both pick the Jorts to win (asshats), you can also watch the helmet-haired one bitchslap his usurper when it comes to one Matthew Stafford. (And damn, I can't keep it straight anymore. Is 7 "overrated" or "underrated?" Early on, it was all "great arm, but what's he done?" that made you think of Crash Davis evaluating Nuke LaLoosh. Recently, it's been "yeah, Knowshon is awesome, but the Dawgs' fortunes ride on the right arm of Stafford" and "watch him check into the right plays" and "finally, someone can catch a fucking ball." {AJ Green is The Truth, y'all.} I will say this: if on the field success comes down to only the ability to perform circumcisions, get photographed with melon-breasted coeds or blather shamelessly about the supernatural, we're in trouble).

Technical updates for y'all

Two quick "tech things" for TNRLM readers:

1) Is everyone getting their regular RSS feeds for the blog okay? I noticed something was hinky with feedburner early in the week, but it appears to be straightened out now. Let me know in the comments or via the email link on the right side if you've been having problems (and perhaps I'll come to your home and personally read the posts to you).

2) Your geeky editor has added a new toy to the blog:



You'll notice this little button at the end of each post. It's the "AddThis" button, and makes it easier than ever to share the content here with friends. If it works like it should, you just put your mouse over it and you'll get a drop down menu that will let you share these brilliant musings with others you love.

Oh, and just for good measure: Gators suck.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Dawgs vs. Tigers: The Gameday Experience, Vol. V

TNRLM Editor's Note: I didn't make the sojourn to Louisiana for the epic beatdown the Dawgs laid on LSU last weekend. However, TNRLM contributor the fabulous Freebird (you may recall the Sugar Bowl recap) did, and following is his account (complete with pictures!) of the experience.

I'm sure that many of the dozens of regular blog readers of TNRLM were wondering where their usual tailgate recap was following the Georgia/Vandy game.

Unfortunately, your regular correspondent spent most of the postgame afternoon napping in the Jeep Cherokee, so I suppose that there was not much to recall.

[Ed: Image pixelated to protect the incoherent. Or perhaps that's just an unusual skin condition caused by the combination of flu medication and whiskey].

Ms. Freebird and I blame ourselves, since thanks to the good Doctor, we were able to "move on up to that deluxe apartment" in the Sky Club, as the good Doctor and Ms. M chose not to attend the Dores battle.

Without proper supervision, the above is the type of event that occurs, and you, faithful readers, are left without a tailgate recap.

Nevertheless, I was asked to share a few details of our trip to Red Stick with the Blog readers, and am happy to do so.

The Scrats, Freebirds, and a host of North Georgians spent the weekend at the Beau Rivage in Biloxi. [Ed: I got engaged there once, long ago. And it lasted almost 6 weeks! Post engagement pictures would probably resemble the photo above, including "pixelation."] The rooms were comped, and three card poker was kind, so it was all good.

The ladies stayed at the casino while Scrat and I jumped on a charter bus to the game on Saturday. We stopped in Slidell where we received half of a chicken, a BBQ pork sandwich, and a fried pie. Jake and Elwood Blues were nowhere to be seen.

Upon arriving in Red Stick, we made the obligatory visit to see Mike the Tiger. They keep him in a glassed-in enclosure, and he doesn't really seem to do a lot.


He was in the shade, but unlike UGA, apparently doesn't get air conditioning, or a nice bag of ice to lay on.

I was surprised that the outside of the stadium looked as much like a "Soldier Field" type of stadium as it did. Its also been a while since there was any significant remodeling inside. Lots of pipes and concrete from back in the day from when Governor Long was firing LSU football coaches.

For those that haven't heard that story, Louisiana Governor Huey Long loved his LSU Tigers. He attended every game, traveled with the team, and even led the band in parades. In the early 1930s, it was also apparent Long didn't have much love for coach Biff Jones. Jones was the coach at LSU for three seasons, from 1932-34. In those three years, Jones compiled a 20-5-6 record, which, however, did not please Long. At halftime of the 1934 season finale, LSU was losing to Oregon 13-0. Long approached Jones in the locker room, wanting to talk to the team. Jones said, “No,” to which Long responded, “Who’s going to stop me?” Jones again refused, and Long said, “I am sick and tired of losing and tying games.” And he added, “You’d better win this one.” Jones quipped, “Well Senator, get this: Win, lose, or draw, I quit!” Long bellowed, “What a bargain!” The Tigers won that day 14-13, but Jones stood by his word. (From Scout.com)


Great SEC environment at the beginning of the game, as one would expect.


As to the game, Stafford played probably his best game at UGA. Moreno won't go down. AJ Green is indeed "The Truth". Our line pass protected very well for Stafford. The main concern I had was how easy LSU moved the ball on us in the second half. Incredibly sloppy tackling. Will have to improve that for this Saturday. [Ed: Freebird was right about Stafford. However, he didn't get the benefit of hearing the color analysis on CBS by Gary Danielson, who was effusive in his praise of #7. So effusive, I'm surprised we didn't hear about a post game sexual assault, with the former Lions QB attempting a locker room reach around while Uncle Verne queued up some Barry White in the background].

By the beginning of the 4th qtr. and a three touchdown Georgia lead, things had thinned out a bit.
Despite their reputation, we had no problems with the LSU fans. Probably as noisy a group as I have ever heard, but didn't really find anyone wanting to pick a fight or otherwise.

The guy right behind us was as loud for the Tigers as any fan I've ever heard (and this coming from a pretty loud fan); but once Georgia got up by three touchdowns in the third quarter, he got on his cell phone and began giving instructions to his wife for the post game setup. However, he was still quite loud, and Scrat and I found out that you need the charcoal really hot for the pork tenderloins, that you don't want the fire too hot for the jambalaya, and that a garlic and ginger rub, mixed with the marinade under the table, makes for a tasty post game LSU treat.

A 2 1/2 hour bus ride home put us back at the Beau Rivage about 9:45 PM. Unfortunately, our Slidell caterer apparently misjudged how many cans of cold beer would be required by 30 Georgia fans, so we had to finish off the trip with Budweisers. [Ed: did you get pixelated?] The Candidate would have been happy.

All in all, a great SEC road trip. The Gators await.

Ed: There you have it. A first person account of the Dawgs - Tigers Gameday Experience, a bit of history about Huey Long, and post-ass-whipping tailgate tips straight from the mouth of a bona fide cajun. What more could you ask for? Many thanks to Freebird for his diligent correspondence and photo essay. Bring on the Jorts.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

I might have a problem with Step 4

I didn't make it to last night's SNL, hosted by Jon Hamm, but thanks to the miracle of Hulu, I didn't have to.

Here's "Don Draper's Guide to Picking Up Women:"



Don't forget: Mad Men season finale tonight at 10 on AMC.

Who would be that stupid?

By now, I'm sure everyone has heard the story of one Ashley Todd, the 20 year old who claimed she was attacked by a 6'4" black man, who became so enraged that she had a McCain/Palin bumper sticker on her car, that he robbed her at an ATM and carved a backwards 'B' on her face.

Many things in the story didn't make sense. Why didn't she call police immediately? Why did she wait 45 minutes to report the attack, from a friend's apartment? If she's standing at an ATM, why would the robber only take $60? Why would the attacker be looking at bumper stickers, and how would he know that the car featuring the GOP sticker was hers? Why would he carve a 'B' on her face (presumably for 'Barack') instead of an 'O?' Isn't an 'O' easier to carve than a 'B?' Wouldn't a 'B' be just about the toughest letter to carve in the whole damned alphabet? Why did he carve it backwards? Was he behind her, dragging her to the nearest storefront mirror to do his carving, and didn't realize the letter wasn't facing the right way (see, if he had carved an 'O,' he could have avoided the whole backwards letter thing). Do most committed ATM robbers/political assailants only carry dull knives? And if the attacker, supposedly an Obama supporter, really wanted to hurt the McCain fan, couldn't he have just waited a couple of months until his candidate's tax policies went into effect, and dimwitted Ashley went back to that ATM only to find that all her money had already been siphoned off to the federal government?

Obviously, the story was exposed as a complete and total fraud. But who would be STUPID enough to think that this whole charade would fly, even for a minute? Who could possibly be that monumentally IDIOTIC?

As they say, every picture tells a story:


With a sweatshirt like that, you don't even need a caption. Oh, I get it.

On a related note, the Tide rolls in Knox-Vegas. Was that the Great Pumpkin's last game in the rivalry? (Note: 5XL sweatervest not included in crime fabrication kit).

Saturday, October 25, 2008

I'll take potpourri for $3,300, Alex

Settle in for a long (and interesting!) collection of news, miscellany and tidbits, y'all. My Google notebook floweth over.

In addition to starring in an upcoming Dick Wolf show, Starbuck will guest on Law & Order.

I'm sure you've seen the teaser for the next season of Lost. Here are the titles for the first 6 eps!

I don't have a dog in the hunt in the World Series, but this could almost make me pull for the Phils.

How is the universe going to end? (I thought it may have happened when Arrested Development got cancelled, during the first half of the Bama game, or when my house got destroyed by itinerant, trollopy gypsies, but here are some alternate theories).

5 best Atari 2600 games
! Man, I loved the faux wood paneled console, and a controller with just a joystick and a button.

The 25 cheesiest hits of the 70s. Awesome.

Stewie Mandel has something nice to say about Dawgs fans.

Hot new SMG photoshoot. Yowza.

Speaking of which, here's a "where are they now" feature about the cast of Buffy.

Effete party boys weep. Zima is no more.

Funny fake Twitter feeds.

If you don't like the hockey team, unleash the dildos!

I assume these are very popular in Columbus, GA.

When you're a former stripper and drug addict, of course Simon Cowell is to blame. (Paula just said "you really took that 8-ball and made it yours, and wrapped it in a rainbow of your special you-ness.")

A completely geeky BSG home computer.

Perhaps someone didn't get this early learnin' in the art of making checklists.

This makes me want to ride a bus. Or donate money to a bus advertising campaign.

Christina Hendricks in black
. Nice. Speaking of space vixens, I was watching a random episode of Numb3rs this week, and caught the gorgeous Morena Baccarin (now with cute as pie short hair) in a guest starring role. As a hooker. (though one without her own shuttle or mysterious syringe). In a Whedonverse connection, DB Woodside (Robin Wood) was also in the ep.

Mad Men, in delightful illustrations. (Season finale tomorrow!) And play Mad Men Jeopardy!

A must see: "Truthful TV Title Cards." Funny.

Top 10 obscure Google tricks. How many did you know? (I knew 2).

Okay, now that the CrackBerry has FINALLY announced a release date for my beloved Bold, they tease us with an upcoming model that has a full qwerty keyboard AND a touchscreen. Dammit.

"Global warming?" Still crap.

Sheriff Carter gets a new love interest on Eureka, and it's Mindy O'Dell!

I've turned several friends on to the fantastic political website, 538, which blends statistical baseball analytical principles with polling and electoral college wonkery. Here's a great profile of the man behind it all, Nate Silver.

20 most awesome sci-fi theme songs.

Who is playing for the massive government bailout? Probably not most taxpayers. On a related note, I think the founding fathers had it right: "Madison and others therefore made it a "first object of government" to protect personal property from unjust confiscation." That "unjust confiscation" also includes the imperial federal government, too, asshats. Who wants to dump tea in a harbor with me?

The 10 least intimidating college mascots. Aaaaah! A duck! With no pants! And no one knows what the fuck a "hokie" is. At least the tree gets drunk on a regular basis. Of course, there's always college's BEST mascot as a counterbalance.

A sci-fi version of the Odyssey. When I was a kid, and writing and illustrating my own comic books, I did the exact same thing, in graphic novel format. I should have copyrighted that shit.

The GOP has to get its ass kicked, in order to return to a party of reason. Hopefully, the coming electoral debacle will spur the party of low taxes and limited government to return to its roots, and ditch the neocons and theocrats.

Friday, October 24, 2008

First, kill Mohinder

I was initially on the Heroes bandwagon. It was nice to see someone bring the superhero mythos to the small screen. Sure, it had been done before, with known characters (Adam West's camp-fest Batman) and those created for the tube (such as poofy-haired theme song, Greatest American Hero). You could even argue that Buffy and Angel were sideways takes on the superhero, wrapped in the supernatural. But this was a genre show that put its geek aspirations right in the damned title, and sought to create an original lineup of "heroes," even if the superpowers and storylines were a bit familiar (if charitable) or derivative (if not so charitable).

The first season mostly delivered, with a couple of slices of top shelf television ("String Theory" and "Company Man"), before fizzling out with one of the most disappointing season finales I can remember. The less said about the strike-shortened terrible second season, the better (though anytime Kristen Bell is on my TV, it's is a good thing).

So now we find ourselves in the midst of the third season. Ratings are down considerably and the show has lost some of its cultural cache and buzz. Granted, the show has improved over last season (not a very high bar to jump), but it's still not on solid footing creatively. Yeah, I still watch, but Heroes has gone from "must watch live" to "I'll watch it later Monday night after catching up on Sarah Connor and Chuck" to "oh, that's in the Now Playing list, I guess I'll watch it." EW just did a cover story on the show, and how to fix it. I agree with many of their findings and recommendations. Here's my take:

Thin the herd.
I appreciate the attempts of S3 to quicken the pace and keep things moving. However, there are just too many new and old characters to care about. Marked for death in the TNRLM reaper's ledger: Mohinder. I know, the ladies like him because he's hot. Hell, I have my own set of Heroes eye-candy, too (Claire, Claire's real mom, Elle, and Daphne, to name a few). But the ponderous voice overs, Cronenberg Fly rip-off plot and shallow acting doesn't really add that much. And Maya? Dear god. Not only is that one of the lamest superpowers ever (my eyes get black and kill everyone!), but no one's going to be polishing an Emmy for that performance. Niki/Jessica/Whatever. I didn't care about the stripper, and I don't care about the mistress of ice cubes political handler. Peter. First, he was wimpy and confused. Then, he was waaaaay too powerful. Then, he was trapped in a caricature of an Irish mob movie. Finally, he's been de-powered, but the fact remains that I loathed him on Gilmore Girls, and I loathe him now. Buh-bye. Parkman. I actually like Greg Grunberg, and find him a talented actor, but his plot has gone nowhere. Why doesn't he read minds with everyone he comes in contact with?

Stop with the time travel.
Yeah, it's a cool power. Yeah, it can fuel plot twists. But it's just too damned much. And worst of all, they don't seem to have an internal logic about how it works. Lost, for example, has "time travel" plotlines, but they've worked out a logic and methodology that actually makes sense, is easily understandable, and they stick to it. With Heroes, sometimes it works. Sometimes, it doesn't. They throw out "butterfly effect" explanations, but abandon them when it's inconvenient. It's a limitless power, but too many people have/had it and it's inconsistently applied. Just stop.

Stop using the world "abilities."
If this was a drinking game, we'd all have engorged livers.

Abandon the "formula to give everyone powers" plot.
The 4400 already did this, and did this better.

Make death count.
How many people have died and come back? Hell, I've lost count. Virtually every genre show has had the "shocking death" and return (including top tier programs like Buffy and Angel) but it reaches ludicrous levels with Heroes. Just off the top of my head, we've seen Sylar, Claire, HRG, Ando, Adam, Linderman, Nathan, Niki, Peter and others all "die," only to come back in one form or another. If everyone does it, it loses its power to shock, move and surprise.

Put the best actors front and center.
Heroes has a telegenic and appealing cast, but they're not all blessed with the same acting talent. Give the meaty stuff to the actors who can pull it off: Adrian Pasdar, Robert Forster, Jack Coleman, Kristen Bell, Zachary Quinto, Christine Rose, Malcolm McDowell.

Stop making the characters stupid to service stupid plot points.
Nathan, the conniving politico, finds god because he survives an assassination attempt and sees Linderman? In a world he knows is populated by people with awesome superpowers? Really? Hiro is told expressly not to open the safe, and then he does, only to lose a game-changing formula? And can't go back in time 5 minutes to NOT open the safe? Peter does....well....Peter does just about anything that Peter does. STUPID. Shows like Buffy and Lost have characters operating in a world with extraordinary circumstances, unnatural powers and twisty plot machinations, but they all behave in a way that is true to the characters.

Save the logic, save the show!

I'm still watching, but unless some of the nonsense stops, and stops soon, I probably won't be for much longer. I could go on, but that's my short list. What's yours?

Monday, October 20, 2008

When geek worlds collide

Don't forget to tune into tonight's Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, where Stephanie Jacobsen -- last seen as Kendra Shaw on the awesome Battlestar Galactica movie Razor -- checks in for an appearance as a woman with a past who becomes involved with Derek Reese.

In other great T:TSSC news, the show was just picked up for the full "back nine," giving us a full season order of 22 eps.

Friday, October 17, 2008

Mad tidbits

Anyone else watch last Sunday's Mad Men and wonder "what the fuck is Don Draper doing?" Yeah, me too. But it was entertaining and thought-provoking nonetheless. And who was he calling as "Dick Whitman?"

Remember that gorgeous cover shot of Christina Hendricks I linked to yesterday? The whole story is now up here. Mostly about fashion and her va-va-voom figure, with several nice pics. (And I always thought Crown Royal was the best looking thing in purple). I missed her during her early guest shots on John Wells shows (didn't really watch any of those), but first took notice after her fantastic turns as "Yo-Saf-Bridge" on Firefly. As one of the commenters put it:
Fans of "Firefly" have known about Christina for years. It's great to see her get the recognition and roles she deserves, not to mention an appreciation of her very abundant charms!

I'll be in my bunk.
I'll be in my bunk, indeed.

Also, great news: Mad Men has (rightfully) earned a third season.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

I'll take potpourri for $3,200, Alex

The shroud of secrecy surrounding the new Trek movie has been lifted. Check out some awesome new pics from JJ Abrams franchise reboot here. The cast looks great.

"Big Stars in Horror Movies" quiz. I got 7 right. You?

Legendary artist Frank Frazetta did some art for the original Battlestar Galactica. Check it out.

Time lapse camera records what cats do when you're sleeping.
Yep, that's about right.

Stewart Mandel's latest mailbag takes a few shots (about one a page) at "whiney (sic) UGA fans." Does only the worst element of the Dawgs fanbase email him, or does he have a point?

Bailouts and nouveau socialism are circling. Time to go "John Galt?"

Great cover shot of Christina Hendricks. Or, as they call her, the "SILF."

Childhood fave V is coming back in a new form. How will it be handled? More Knight Rider, or more BSG?

Good news. Burn Notice and Psych get picked up for another season.

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Dawgs vs. Vols: The Weekend Travelogue and Gameday Experience, Vol. IV

After last week's Tolstoy-like screed, I think I'll keep it short and sweet this week. Bottom line, nothing of bloggy note really happened.

As for the tailgate and travelogue:
  • There were no harbingers of the apocalypse or bad omens.
  • I had the flu all week, and felt like crap for most of the weekend. And probably a little still today.
  • There were no unexpected guest stars, nor an incident of "The Whitney Factor." (though we did agree on some of the particulars - it has to be an extended, in-person sighting, not just attendance without an up close encounter).
  • The plans and trains and automobiles arrived on time.
  • Everyone remembered their tickets.
  • No pedestrians were run down.
  • All the electronics performed as expected.
  • There was an amusing comments about "lap sitting," but it would take too long to explain, and dammit, I'm tired.
  • Don't buy liquor at Firehouse package store on Broad street on gameday. WILDLY overpriced.
As for the game itself:
  • We won.
  • I still hate the Vols and all their baby-eating-carrots-shitting-in-a-diaper-orange.
  • Phat Phil is probably not long for this world.
  • The score doesn't accurately reflect the total control we had of this game, and the whoop ass we laid on the visitors from Knox Vegas. Realistically, there probably should have been another 10 - 14 points added to the scoreboard. Sadly, with a few exceptions (Aloha!), it's characteristic of the CMR era to play to the level of the opponent and win, but not napalm the scoreboard. I guess we can be grateful for talented kickers.
  • Unless he's just bone-tired from playing corner leading into a punt, I think Prince should be returning punts.
  • MoMass is a man.
  • Despite the picks, 7 had a hell of game. (Though those picks did contribute mightily to the lackluster total on the scoreboard).
  • After the face plant at Neyland last year, a win is a win.
  • 1 net yard rushing? That's damned impressive.
  • That was a terrible call on the defensive holding in the red zone. "Repeat third down" my ass.
  • Another bad day to be ranked in the top 5.
  • Vandy and LSU look less daunting than before (but still a challenge, don't get me wrong), and of course the big circle on the calendar is for the Cocktail Party. And yes, goddammit, the game is still called "The World's Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party." (Just like I referred to last weekend's clash as the "Red River Shootout." PC mavens go fuck yourself).
Another weekend, another trip, another game. Maybe I'll feel back to normal in a couple of days. Go Dawgs.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

A reason to believe in the justice system

In which the Lord smites those who would make a craven image of his holiness, or put another God above Him.

A couple of years ago, one of the many TiVo / DirecTV receiver combos on my old house went on the fritz. I called the good folks at DirecTV, and they said they would FedEx me a new one right away as a replacement. They asked if I wanted an original TiVo model, or one of the "new, enhanced" DirecTV DVRs. Out of a perverse curiosity, I asked them to send me one of "theirs." I hooked it up a day later, and I was aghast at how user-unfriendly and horrible it was. Everything was uncomfortable, barely functional and decidedly inferior. (One of my favorite things was watching two programs at once, utilizing the dual tuners, and pausing one to switch to the other for a while, then pausing that, then switching back to the first one. While you could watch one and record one on the DirecTV DVR, you couldn't perform the viewing described above, let alone just by hitting one button to go back and forth).

I promptly boxed it up shipped it right back for a TiVo branded model, and have never looked back. In fact, I think (other than the whole moving thing) the main reason I haven't yet migrated to HD is that there wasn't a DirecTV HD receiver with TiVo. And I couldn't draw breath without my beloved TiVo. Fortunately, DirecTV and TiVo have patched up their differences and are now blissfully in cahoots again, so when I get into my next home, that will be one of the first things on the shopping list.

Anyhoo, I'm happy that TiVo is getting the rightful and legal credit for their life-altering ingenuity.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Do your civic duty and vote

What president do you want in a crisis? Perhaps it depends on whether or not you face one of the following scenarios:
  • A highjacked Air Force One
  • Alien invasion of the planet Earth
  • Giant asteroid on a collision course with Earth
  • Nation on the brink of nuclear hysteria during the Cold War
  • Possible extinction of the human race by malevolent toasters
  • Martian invaders bent on world domination
We don't need a insomnia-curing debate to determine this. Go here and pull the lever for your favorite president.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

I'll take potpourri for $3,100, Alex

Everyone else enjoying How I Met Your Mother this year? I know I am. And it makes a nice pairing with the increasingly funny and endearing Big Bang Theory. Here's a fun interview at TWOP with HIMYM creator Craig Thomas. As if you need other reasons to like him and the show, he's a huge fan of Veronica Mars, Buffy and Angel. (great taste, that one). And he hated Connor. (Though Season 5 Connor, along with the weaselly Pete Campbell on Mad Men, have made me almost forget the whole Season 4 thing).

A while back, I blogged about "go to bed shows." Meaning, shows that I let rack up on the bedroom TiVo and watch when I go to sleep. They typically aren't that serialized and are usually procedurals. For a while, I would watch shows like Numb3rs, Crossing Jordan or CSI:Miami (before that got too inhumanly stupid and hammy to even tolerate for a laugh). Lately, I've added NCIS to the rotation, which is an entertaining procedural, and sampled Supernatural, which my TiVo helpfully suggested for me. In fact, I think I may move Supernatural to the main TiVo it's so good. I don't know why I never got into this program when it first aired (on the CW? On at the same time as other shows?) but it's really damned good. It features lots of folks behind the scenes that were associated with The X-Files, and has a laugh out loud sense of humor in addition to a compelling mythology and solid scares.

The 10 Worst spinoffs ever. (I actually liked The Lone Gunmen, though).

There WILL be a Wonderfalls crossover with Pushing Daisies this year. Awesome.

Several online writers have seen some of Watchmen. Sounds mind-blowing.

10th anniversary DVD for SportsNight.
An underrated gem.

The censored Chuck Lorre vanity card from Monday's Big Bang Theory. Censors are morons.

New "blood" (including Admiral Cain and Zack from Gilmores!) on True Blood, which is getting better every week. The dimwitted brother makes me laugh in spite of myself, and I actually liked Tara last week, so it must be doing something right.

Interesting directorial rumors. Will Thor take on a Shakespearean quality?

Deadspin ladies discuss the Idaho cheerleading outfit controversy. One of the gals offers this insight about the cheerleaders and coeds of the SEC, which has long been a mystery:
That said, I have spent many football-watching afternoons deconstructing the hotness of SEC cheerleaders. (Consensus seems to hold that 'Bama and Ole Miss have the prettiest girls on the sidelines. We can never figure out why Georgia doesn't, when Athens is full of the most gorgeous coeds you've ever seen).
Whiniest coaches in the NCAA. Lots of SEC coaches in there.

Thought-provoking stats comparing the Jorts Jesus and Stafford.

What does college football have to do with scarecrows? Check this out. UGA appears to be playing another team, who all wear the number 0. Funny.

Video of halftime interviews gone wrong. Anyone else think that last one with Joe Kines sounds like Boomhauer?

Bill Maher and chatty serpents. And why again, don't cults pay taxes?

Michael Muhney, who was the caustic Sheriff Lamb on Veronica Mars, seems like an awesome, and gracious, dude. Here he talks about not getting cast as Seely Booth's brother on Bones, nor as Paul Ballard on Dollhouse (with lots of nice things, of course, to say about Joss and the guy that got the role, Tahmoh Penikett. Speaking of which, if you're a Helo fan, check out this interview with Tahmoh conducted by the folks at Galactica Quorum at DragonCon. Another down to earth, appreciative and insightful dude).

If I was a cop, I'd give this guy a pass for driving erratically, simply for having good taste.

Saturday, October 4, 2008

Do you have manly skills?

According to Popular Mechanics, here are the 100 skills every man should know.

I scored myself at 45. Does that make me an average Joe, or a panty-wearing Nancy boy?

Some things I think I know how to do, but have never actually done (such as perform the Heimlich, or escape a sinking car). Some things I have done, but don't want to do any more (like use charcoal in a grill, when I can twist a knob and press a button; or change a tire when I can just call AAA). Others are kind of sketchy. I've been near tornadoes when I was a kid, and experienced my fair share of lightning on a golf course (and even begged for it to hit me once in college, but that's a long story). I didn't give myself a point for surviving floods, although logically, what do you do except go for higher ground, and look for floaty stuff?

I think they were missing a few, too. What about mixing a perfect martini or cocktail? Tie a real bow tie? Grill a steak? Handle a skid or hydroplane when driving? Give a speech? Hook up a home theatre?

So, what did you score? And what's missing? And Quien es mas macho?? Fernando Lamas o Ricardo Montalban?

Perfect placesettings, kinky sex, rubbin' is racin' and John Madden

For a nominal fee, I just upgraded my XM radio package. We're seeing the first benefits of the XM-Sirius merger, and I was only too happy to add the "Best of Sirius" to my current lineup. Included:
  • Howard Stern - eh. Never cared much for Howard. But it's there if I'm in the mood.
  • NFL - NFL talk, plus play-by-play for every single game. In a word: AWESOME. Now, with NFL Sunday Ticket and the XM radio, I can always check in on how my fantasy team is taking it in the ass.
  • Speaking of which, there's also Playboy Radio. For those who don't drive a 5-speed, I guess.
  • Marta Stewart - Just in case I was ever driving down the highway and needed to know how to make a centerpiece out of a gourd and dried flowers.
  • NASCAR - Yep, I'm a closet good ole' boy.

TV Quickies

Random thoughts on the Fall TV Season:

Newly minted Emmy Winning Best Drama Mad Men returned Sunday night with a fantastic episode. I started writing a long treatise on the sad, urine-stained career arc of Freddy Rumson, the meaning of a “name,” Roger Sterling’s end of the episode surprise and Betty Draper’s desperate housewife days, but realized that a couple of professional critics had already done the job quite well. Check out some thoughtful examinations of “Six Month Leave” here and here.

It’s sad that the ratings for Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles are cratering. I think this season has been even better than the last, and Monday’s eppy with a look at Cameron’s story was fascinating, and very well acted by Summer Glau. Rumors addressed here.

Dexter returned Sunday night, and Jimmy Smits will be a welcome addition to the cast. All the elements that make this show a must-watch are there, though I hope the writers don’t feel compelled to make Dex’s latest victim a total scumbag in order to give our serial killer an easy, moral “out.” If the Sopranos and Mad Men and Deadwood have shown us anything, it’s that intelligent audiences will stick with a compelling character that operates outside the boundaries of traditional morality. One major complaint, though. The end of episode reveal introduced something that is typically a “show killer” for me. Why? Can’t even a show about a serial killer stay away from this? Gah.

Heroes season 3 is still an incomprehensible mess, plot-wise. (Examples: if future Peter can travel in time, why shoot Nathan? Why not just tell him what happens if he makes his reveal last year? Or transport him someplace else, away from the media? And if you have mastery over time, why let any of this happen in the first place? Same with Hiro. Why not go back BEFORE he let “the formula” get out of the safe?). Still, for the time being I’ll keep watching, if only because I find some of the characters and performances (HRG, Daphne, Sylar, Hiro, Nathan, Elle, Angela, Claire’s mom) entertaining. At least they’ve picked up the pace of the stupidity this year. Oh, and check out Jack Coleman’s (HRG) blog on TWOP. Much better than the show.

And here’s a funny take on how to grade Heroes episodes on a curve.

Anyone else digging Fringe? I really like it, and think the interplay between the three leads is amusing. And any chance for John Noble's character to talk about cocaine, LSD, root beer floats and cows is fine with me.

Still on board with the quirky detective on House.

Monday, September 29, 2008

Dawgs vs. Tide: The Weekend Travelogue and Gameday Experience, Vol. III

Well, what is there to say, really? Yes, it was good to see my friends and catch up. The weather was cool and we didn’t get rained on. My plane didn’t crash. On either leg of the journey. So that’s all good.

But that brings us to the game. I can’t begin to put into words what a hellacious beatdown that was. That first half was about the ugliest thing I can remember seeing in person, and even though UGA has suffered worse spankings (see Spurrier’s Gators vs. just about any team in the Goof/Donnan era), this one felt so much worse because of the expectations. Preseason #1, and heading into the game with the #3 ranking. Watching USC going down, and fantasizing about the chance to jump back into that top spot. Prime time game. Coming off a sharp performance in the desert. Heisman talk. College Gameday in town. Breaking out the Black. Yes, it was all set up to be quite a show. Except for the fact that we got our asses kicked but good.

You want a pop-culture equivalent of the Bama vs. Dawgs ass-whooping? How about Ed Norton vs. Jared Leto in Fight Club. Arthur vs. the Black Knight in Holy Grail. Ivan Drago vs. Apollo Creed. Obi-Wan vs. Anikan Skywalker. The Code Red vs. PFC Santiago. The critics vs. Plan 9 from Outer Space. The rakes vs. Sideshow Bob. The Aliens vs. Private Hudson. We got dismembered, savagely beaten and left for dead. There are "dawgs" on Michael Vick's property that got treated more humanely.

I could use up half the googabytes on the interwebs listing all the things that went wrong. Hands of stone. Errant passes. Offensive and defensive lines about as sturdy as a damp homecoming streamer. Rampant injuries. (More) stupid penalties. Bad gameplanning and coaching. Punts that apparently had trouble clearing the line of scrimmage. Tempting fate (Mohawks? Really?). But the bottom line is, in one of the biggest games ever to hit Sanford Stadium, the Tide showed up and we didn’t. They bitchslapped us across the Classic City and deserved to win. So tip your cap, lick your wounds and move on.

If there’s anything good to take out of this (and believe me, for a cynical “glass is half empty” sort, there’s not much) it’s this: We still control our own destiny in the East. Which could lead us to the SEC Championship game, which would probably mean a ‘Bama rematch. To not have to count on others to reach that game is a small consolation, but yet there it remains. If you’re going to lose, lose early and build your way back up. A murderous schedule still offers opportunity to overcome. Hey, no more worrying about the lofty preseason expectations and the slighting of the critics!

Okay, with the humble pie buffet sufficiently engorging our stomachs, let’s move on to the tailgate and travelogue portion of the program, shall we?

I probably should have known how the game was going to turn out, reading the tea leaves as events unfolded. But dammit, I was really going to try and give this “optimism” thing a try. However, when Munson suddenly and unexpectedly stepped down, that was probably an omen. My flight was delayed about 30 minutes while they replaced a part. I got the upgrade on the way down, and quickly proceeded enjoy a little brown water while jetting south. Right before landing, as I ordered another whiskey, the flight attendant looked at me sternly and said “you’re not driving, are you?” I think I mumbled “Marta” with all the elocution of Lou Holtz. Still, it must have worked since she brought me another one. Sweet.

It was an uneventful train ride, but the Freebird was a little late picking me up. Not anything terribly inconvenient, but it was the continuation (like the Munson retirement and the airplane part) of a series of events that in hindsight, would seem like Schleprock drops a mirror walking under a ladder while tripping over a black cat in his path.

Heading to Casa Freebird, we decide to get some takeout Mexican food. Miz Freebird phones in the order, and we arrive a little later to pick it up. When we get home and unpack it all, it seems they have forgotten one whole complete order. Oooops. So in what would eventually become a running joke for the next 24 hours, the Freebird sighs, grabs his car keys and heads back into town to pick up the missing dinner. The rest of the evening was a fairly laid back affair, with several cocktails and a viewing of Munson’s Greatest Hits.

The next morning, however, is when the metaphorical storm clouds began to gather. I won’t take you through the entire narrative, dear readers, but over the course of just a few hours:

The coffeemaker malfunctions.

Freebird makes his first trip of the morning, to Mickey D’s to pick up breakfast. Neighbors are working in the yard, and he passes them and waves (both ways). Little did he realize this would be the first 2 waves of an eventual 10.

Miz Freebird leaves to drop off the Wee Freebird with the grandparents. Freebird leaves to go put gas in his car, which we will be taking to the game. (See, there’s a gas shortage in Georgia, with one yahoo even calling for the ballgame to be cancelled because of it. Still, best to gas up ahead of time than be stranded somewhere between home and Athens because the pumps done dried up). An hour and trips to 4 “empty” gas stations later, he returns. With no gas. 2 more waves to the neighbors.

With a late game, we were excited to be using the Slingbox to watch the afternoon games via wireless connection at the tailgate. Freebird is worried because we couldn’t pick up a solid wireless signal at the last home game, but packs the equipment nonetheless. As a backup, he pulls out an XM radio “boombox,” so we can at least listen to the audio of the SEC. Nice thinking. As he attempts to test the set up, it appears the regular AC adapter is missing. He tries to hook it up several times, but each time the makeshift power cables come unplugged. Profanity follows, but the boombox is packed. With batteries, I think.

Miz Freebird calls, and my lovely and welcoming hosts discuss the arrangements for picking up ice and the Subway Sandwich tray we’re taking to the tailgate. At this stage of the morning’s frustrations, I think it would probably be better if Jared Fucking Fogler personally walked it over. However, the Freebird gets back into his vehicle and ventures out. 2 more waves to the neighbors later, he returns with Sonic crushed ice (whee!) and sandwiches.
Since the Cherokee was unable to be refueled, we instead decide to take Pacifica, and pack that up with all the required accessories (or so we think).

Turns out the XM radio in the Pacifica has a problem with the antenna. So no satellite sports on the way down. Hey, I have my iPod with me, full of Southern Fried Tailgate goodness and Munson clips. A perfect fire up for the journey. There is no way, however, to connect the iPod to the car stereo. So we have flip down screens on which we can watch an entire fucking miniseries about that whimpy, bald-headed little communist bastard, but no way to listen to an iPod? Okay. But wait! The Freebirds have one of those cigarette lighter connectors that will broadcast from the device through a vacant AM radio station. Awesome. Oh, but this was an older model. Which requires software to be installed on the PC, and then the PC needs to be synced with the iPod, and just damn. Guess we’re listening to fuzzy top 40 from Atlanta (or one of White County’s many stations that have both kinds of music, country or gospel).

We’re slightly behind our scheduled departure time, but leaving around noon will still put us at the tailgate in good order. We pull out and head to the game, making our 7th and 8th waves to the neighbors, still working in their yard.

After all the hassles of the morning, we’re moving at a pretty good clip and things are looking up. However, about 25 minutes from home, the car slows down. We’re not near an intersection or in traffic. The Freebird slowly pulls into a driveway, turns the car around, and says “We have to go back to Cleveland.” Instantly, the missus and I know what’s wrong. If we had forgotten the ice or the beer or the whiskey or our black baseball caps or the trash bags or the sandwiches or the fruit tray – any of these items could have been picked up along the way or in Athens without doubling back. Nope. Freebird Forgot His Tickets.

Do you go to the OK Corral without a gun?
Do you go to play golf without your clubs?
Do you go to an orgy without your cock?
Do you go to the airport without your ID?
Do you go to a wedding without a divorce attorney?

There are some things that are just absolutely crucial to the process.

Now, if this had been the Central Michigan Game. Or the Vandy game. Or almost any other game all season, this might not have been such a big deal. Someone would have had extras, or you could have scalped some for the cost of a tank of gas (presuming, of course, that you could find some place to fill up with gas in the post-apocalyptic world of Georgia, where Mad Max hunts aboriginal gangs in his dusty police cruiser). But no, this was Back In Black: The Sequel and a Top 10 clash under the lights on national TV with College Gameday.

Conservative estimates the week prior had tickets going for upwards of $500 each. So we turned the fuck around and spent a very, very quiet 25 minutes retracing our steps back to Casa Freebird. We pulled into the neighborhood, and waved to the neighbors for the 9th time. Turned into the driveway, parked and retrieved the tickets from their resting place. Which was in the glovebox of the other car. Now, I can understand that keeping the tickets in the car so you won't forget them isn't a totally horrific idea. If you only have one car. Or always, without exception, take the same car. But that's not the case in this situation, though I will say, in the Freebird's defense, that he did have a stressful morning and that up until the situation with the lack of available fuel, we did plan on taking the vehicle with the tickets. But I felt compelled to relate the story for several reasons:
  • It truly set the tone for the on-field carnage that would follow later.
  • The consensus at the tailgate was that despite the attempts to impose Chinese journalistic standards and censor the story, the truth must be blogged.
  • Said ticket-forgetter openly and derisively mocked me for making checklists for all my travels and endeavors. (Of course, I've never forgotten to take something I intended to on a trip, either).
We finally headed to Athens (for the last time that day) and waved to the neighbors for the 10th time. I'm not sure what the hell they thought was going on. Perhaps the guy up the street was taking every beer in his cooler to Athens individually?

Look, there's that VFW. And that Bingo parlor. And that vegetable stand. And that truck on blocks in that field. And that place with two refrigerators on the front porch. This all looks very familiar.

On the way, Miz Freebird sent a blanket text message to all the tailgaters indicating that we were at DefCon1, and please don't call or text – we'll get there eventually. Poor Hank was left in the lot alone for a while, with two Bama fans (granted, they were family) and the camo-wearing, football-throwing rednecks to the right of him. All things considered, the Freebird handled this dramatic setback pretty well. Or, as one caller on Sunday pointed out, with "maturity, wisdom and fortitude." He didn't even get pissed off and throw his (blue) hat in anger.

You'd think the clusterfuck of a day would stop there. Of course, you'd be wrong.

Despite concerns of a less than powerful available wi-fi signal, we did bring the laptop, monitor and Slingbox accessories to watch all the day's high profile football action. We never got a chance to test the signal. Because the extension chord wasn't packed. Those checklists are handy, I guess.

The rednecks who tailgate beside us did set up the whole DirecTV dish and TV (coaxial cable, receiver and dish were probably on their checklist). So we got to watch the Florida – Ole Miss game. Or at least most of it. Because at the very crucial end of the game, their generator ran out of gas. So the entire crowd moved en masse over to our area, where we had the XM boombox (remember that? Hey, we had batteries!) tuned the game. We kept listening while the dudes got the generator filled up and started again. Florida eventually loses the game, and a cheer breaks out through Athens. And while we were all thrilled with the Jorts spitting the bit, it did start to be cause for concern. USC and now Florida. Uh-oh. Is this one of those weekends where upsets are more contagious than a Columbus high-schooler back in the 80s? Turns out, yep.

Freebird somehow wound up cutting his hand. I never got the full story on how it happened (though I do know it wasn't a paper cut from a list entitled "Important Things To Take To The Game On Saturday"), but he spent several hours with paper towels wrapped around his left thumb.

And then there's "The Whitney Factor." We have a fraternity brother whose Zelig-like presence at big games spells almost certain doom. I'm not sure of all the examples and corollaries of The Whitney Factor, but perhaps that's something to sort through at the next tailgate. However, even though we know he's attended Falcons, Braves and Dawgs games where we didn't see him, or only saw him briefly, there's a very good chance that an extended sighting will inevitably cause the catastrophic collapse of the team in question.

The other thing going on was just a palpable sense of ennui regarding the game. Maybe everyone was wary of getting too drunk and too fired up too early, and not making it through the game. But I can't recall a single "call the Dawgs" cheer during the many hours we were tailgating. At the special request of The Candidate's wife, we broke out the Bulldawg Bites.

But when it came time to drink a toast, it was just lackluster. Sure, we tipped one for Larry, and 24 and 7 and CMR, but the enthusiasm just wasn't there. Had the bad karma of the day overcome us? Did we know, deep down, that we were lambs being led to the slaughter?

When we got to our seats, I will say that the pregame spectacle was quite good. The site of the stadium almost completely "blacked out" was a thing of beauty, and I think collectively we may have actually been even louder than we were for Auburn last year. We started off with a rare good kickoff, but then it went all downhill from there. That first half was about as demoralizing a two quarters as I can recall, and that includes the West Virginia Sugar Bowl (of course, I spent that game trying to figure out which random dude my purported girlfriend was going to be fucking later). To the fans credit, we stuck it out in the second half and tried to will the Dawgs back into it, and for a while, there was a faint glimmer of hope that we could make a game of it. But there were just too many mistakes, too many injuries, too many poor decisions, too many bad plays and too much bad karma to overcome against a very, very good 'Bama team. We came, we saw, we got our asses handed to us on a platter.

I think I summed it up on the walk back to our vehicle after the game: "This is the best cigarette ever and I hope the cancer kills me before we get to the car."

Friday, September 26, 2008

I'll take potpourri for $3,000, Alex

We didn't see it because of the unbearable bloat caused by the reality show host trainwreck, but Buffy won the voting for TV's most memorable moment.

Speaking of the Emmys, other than some of the awards themselves (yay Mad Men!) and Ricky Gervais and Don Rickles, that show was disastrously free of highlights. Josh Groban (!) did a polarizing medley of TV theme songs that people loved or hated. Personally, I thought it was great (he does Cartman, y'all!), but check it out for yourself.

A sequel to Unbreakable? Hmmm, a recent Shaymalan movie I might watch.

Hard to punch it into the end zone against 12 men. Pac 10 refs. Sheeesh.

Great bulletin board material for the Dawgs. Maybe not a funeral, but I'm gonna drink like it's an Irish wake. And here's a hysterical "reality show" reaction to those comments. And former NBA coach Eric Musselman talks black jerseys here.

I stopped watching Grey's long ago, but I might have to check this out. I know a lot of Alias fans hated her, but I think she's scorching hot (and she was great on In Treatment, too). Perhaps I just have a thing for foreign chicks with great lips and overbites (see Piper, Billie).

If Josh Groban's song medley and Melissa George are polarizing, the new detective on House was as well. House's seasonal "foils" can be that way (I hated Vogler, loved Stacy, hated Tritter, loved the "survivor" competition and Cutthroat Bitch) and Lucas follows in that tradition. Personally, I found him funny, quirky (in a good way) and entertaining. If indeed he gets "spun off" into his own show, I'd check it out.

How could anyone actually live like this? Hell, I know someone who actually tried to "raise" four kids in an environment like that. On a related note, in Columbus, this might have been called "the kiddie pool."

Damn, Joanie heated up the Emmys, no?

Beaver Fever! Damn. I watched some of that while I was falling asleep after a long day. Then I woke up after a bizarre dream (Sam and I were in a football stadium being attacked by alien spaceships) to find that the closing 3 minutes of the game were airing on ESPN. Life lesson: even Trojans aren't safe from an angry beaver. Given this stunning upset, could the Dawgs jump back to #1 with a win Saturday night?

Don't forget, Dexter returns Sunday night!

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

If you don't love the Buffster, we may be done

Last night, I caught up on Monday's season premiere of How I Met Your Mother, and it was de -- wait for it -- lightful. Both the A and B stories were funny and character-driven, and it was great to have this group of television friends back.

One of the plot points revolved around Ted worrying that his new fiancee, Stella, might not like his favorite movie (Star Wars). IO9 has a take on it here.

This struck a chord with me, as I've long contemplated the "pop culture relationship deal breakers." For some folks, it can be politics, sports or religion. (For the record, I've dated liberals, conservatives, jesus freaks, atheists, Gators, Vols, Bugs and even folks who don't think of football season as the High Holy Days). Or in Ted and Stella's case, it was a movie. For others, it can be music.

But my pop culture world revolves around the tube, and I've even kept a list on my CrackBerry, entitled "TV for S/O." (That would be Television for the Significant Other). I understand that not many chicks are going to be geeky enough to know the difference between a Romulan and a Klingon, or be able to explain the alien conspiracy on The X-Files. Hell, I can't even explain the alien conspiracy on The X-Files. Nor, apparently, could Chris Carter. But there are some shows that are just so transcendent and so important that it's critical your long-term significant other develops an appreciation for them. Perhaps they've never had a chance to view them. Or perhaps they've been turned off by a "silly" title (*cough* Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Battlestar Galactica *cough*), without ever watching the show with an open mind. However, if they've been exposed to your favorite shows and still don't feel passionately (or even positively) about them, it would make me wonder if there was something fundamentally wrong with them, and that we wouldn't be compatible in the long run. I've got scores of TV shows on DVD, about 50 season passes on the TiVo, and have seen every single episode of literally hundreds of different series. But here are the TV dealbreakers for me:
  • Lost
  • Arrested Development
  • Buffy
  • Angel
  • Firefly
  • Battlestar Galactica
  • Mad Men
  • Veronica Mars
  • Dexter
What about you, TNRLMers? What are your TV (or Pop Culture) Deal Breakers?

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

And the mic goes silent


Stunning news out of Athens: Legendary UGA broadcaster Larry Munson has retired, effective immediately.

For many Dawgs fans like myself, we grew up with Larry, listening to the games on the radio long before we walked through the arch to get our degrees, and headed over 'tween the hedges on Saturdays. Larry provided a soundtrack and narration to the fall, and his voice will be truly missed.

A good roundup of reactions can be found at the Georgia Sports Blog.

I hope the university and/or the fans can come up with some type of tribute to Larry for Saturday's game vs. Bama.

Best wishes to Larry Munson, a Damn Good Dawg, on his retirement.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Emmy Picks

If you want a recap of my thoughts on the nominations, you can check that out here. You'll find more in-depth discussion about the categories, with suggested line ups of how the categories should have been comprised. But we got what we got, so....

Following is a Should Win / Will Win for the major categories:

Best Drama
Should Win: Really, I'd be happy with Lost, Dexter or Mad Men winning (or hell, even House, which I thought had a strong season with the search for the new team, and capped with a spectacular finale). Forced to choose, I'd go with Dexter or Mad Men, with the latter slightly ahead.
Will Win: The Sopranos connections don't hurt, and I think the voters will actually surprise us and give it to Mad Men.

Lead Actor, Drama
Should Win: Byrne carried 40+ episodes of sitting around talking, no ordinary accomplishment, but Hall, Laurie and Hamm all made us love and be fascinated with dark, complex and somewhat less than heroic central figures. Any of those 4 would represent a solid choice, but I'll go with Hall.
Will Win: If they don't inexplicably give it to Spader again (an entirely likely possibility), I'd like to think Laurie might finally break through.

Lead Actress, Drama
Should Win: Hunter is spectacular in a show I can't stand, and Sedgwick anchors a terrific and enjoyable ensemble. I'll go with Kyra.
Will Win: I think the movie star luster of Close will get her the trophy.

Supporting Actor, Drama
Should Win: Slattery or Emerson
Will Win: Emerson

Supporting Actress, Drama
Should Win: Wiest or Griffiths
Will Win: Wilson

Best Comedy
Should Win: Comes down to a choice between 30 Rock and The Office. 30 Rock had a brilliant first half and a terrible return from the strike, while The Office was more even overall. 30 Rock had more consistent laugh out loud moments, but I would probably award the consistency of The Office.
Will Win: But voters react to a few, selected episodes, so 30 Rock will take it.

Lead Actor, Comedy
Should Win: Baldwin doing "therapy" with Tracy Morgan was the single funniest thing on TV this year.
Will Win: If voters can ignore Baldwin's deplorable personal behavior, they will give him the trophy.

Lead Actress, Comedy
Should Win: Applegate, Parker and Fey all did good work, though Applegate did more complex work (playing two sides of the same person) on a lesser show.
Will Win: Applegate's compelling personal story, combined with her good work, should get the win here.

Supporting Actor, Comedy
Should Win: Harris, no contest.
Will Win: The voters for some reason don't love HIMYM like they should, but I think they might actually give it to Harris anyway.

Supporting Actress, Comedy
Should Win: Poehler's Hillary Clinton is worth the price of admission, and I missed Pushing Daisies.
Will Win: Smart is an extraordinarily talented veteran who should get the requisite votes here.

Reality Shows......who cares.

There you have it.

I always get more excited about the nominations themselves, more so than the actual awards, but I may TiVo the show and fast forward through all the fluff (being hosted by various reality show hosts -- ugh). Mad Men is "dark" tonight to make way for the show, but there is another new episode of the increasingly entertaining True Blood to watch.

Saturday, September 20, 2008

You only have 210 minutes to down your pinot grigio!

Tailgating rules from Arizona State, where the Dawgs will be playing this evening.

So let me get this straight:

Beer and wine is okay for tailgating, but no liquor. So if I want to funnel a box of cheap chardonnay, that's fine. But if I want a whiskey drink, the campus po-po will haul me off to the slammer? Priceless.

You can only set up a tailgate three and a half hours prior to kickoff? You'll spend that much time looking for your corkscrew!

And "no drinking games?" Who patrols and monitors that? So you can chug a bottle of Riesling, as long as you don't keep score? Some games, like "flip cup" or "quarters" would probably be easy to spot. Others, like the "name game" or Thunderchicken creation "jet" not so much. Could you explain a game of "thumper" as an epileptic seizure? I can see some unaware Dawg fan in the Maricopa County lockup, conversing with a fellow prisoner:
"What are you in for?"

"Rape, grand theft auto, intent with a deadly weapon and meth dealing. You?"

"Beer pong."
Those Pac-10 football fans are badasses. Other tailgating rules:
  1. No pork or beef products allowed. Pregame spreads must include sushi, bean sprouts and tofu.
  2. No music (such as the "Southern Fried Tailgate") allowed on external speakers. All Yanni and Zamphir must be played on portable music device with headphones.
  3. All waste material must be recycled on the spot, and turned into playground equipment for homeless children.
  4. All RVs must be powered by electricity or wind.
  5. Tailgaters should purchase carbon offsets to counter the global warming caused by the companies producing their micro-brews.
  6. Don't harrass the brie vendors.
  7. No cheering, chanting or "woof-ing." Polite claps only.
  8. Tailgate areas larger than 10' by 10' must feature a maypole.
  9. Grief counselors provided by the state will be available after the game on the North Lawn.

I'll take potpourri for $2,900, Alex

A fascinating look at the history of internet memes.

Michael Emerson (Lost's Benjamin Linus) talks Lost and Emmys.

5 reasons to be content with carrying a few extra pounds.

This sounds like an interesting mini-series from HBO, with a top-shelf crew of producers.

Another reason to love Maura Tierney.

You have got to be fucking kidding me. Seems like I remember something about tea. And a harbor. If that's "patriotic," then call me a goddamned enemy of the state.

Good roundtable interview with Emmy candidates Michael C. Hall, John Slattery, Rainn Wilson, Mary Louise Parker and Rachel Griffiths. Tomorrow I'll have my "will win/should win" take on the Emmys.

An interesting look at the history of the Cylons.

Speaking of BSG, "Kendra Shaw" will be popping up on Sarah Connor soon. Cool.

Sigh. Seems like I left a friendly place.

Well, I know which one I would choose.

Summary of quotable TV.

13 things you should know about this season of Heroes.

Skiffy greenlights a new X-Files-ish show from Jane Espenson and the creator of Farscape. I'll watch.

As long as they are anti-tax, there are good choices for a candidate here.

Haven't seen the new Coen brothers movie yet, but evidently, this makes an appearance. Oddly, this made me wonder what my movers thought last year.

An apt picture to headline TWOP's list of most egregious Emmy snubs.

An early look at S3 of Dexter.

Friday, September 19, 2008

Passing out grades for the summer TV season

The fall television season is upon us, so it's time to take a quick look back at the boys of summer, television-style.

First and foremost, I'm sure you're probably sick of reading about my undying love affair with The Middleman. Unless, of course, you're a fellow fan of the Middledude and Dub-Dub. I watch a LOT of TV, and this was by far the most inventive, original and entertaining show I've seen in ages. Though not a clone of a Whedon program, it still has the same sensibility, in that it wholly creates its own universe, style and patter, and completely immerses you. It wasn't a perfect fit for ABC Family, and didn't pull the ratings it could (and should) have, so who knows if we'll be treated to another season of one of the most brilliant concoctions to grace the boob tube. If you've ever trusted my recommendations, please treat yourself to a viewing of The Middleman. A+

In Plain Sight was okay. In a summer without much going on, it made for a passable procedural with an intriguing concept, a solid lead performance and a star character in the making (Marshall!). I was bored with the family drama, though the whole "box of letters" bit at the end was a bit heartwarming. And for some bizarre reason, I was mesmerized by Mary's dimwitted, skank of a sister. (Evidently, I just have a soft spot for that type). On a related note, said sister will soon be showing up on Bones as a love interest for Angela. B-

Despite the interesting premise and setting, I still have all the eppies of Swingtown TiVod. Unwatched. Incomplete.

Secret Diary of a Call Girl coasted by entirely on the charms of star Billie Piper. If you're a fan of her Rose Tyler, it made for a mildly diverting 20 minutes. It wasn't sexy enough to be erotic, funny enough to make you laugh or dramatic enough to move you. But if you like saucy chicks with an overbite who once rode in the Tardis, it'll do. C

I'm still halfway through the latest season of Weeds. I enjoy this show when I watch it, yet I don't rush home to fire up the TiVo to make sure I catch the latest ep. Maybe my TiVo is telling me something. Incomplete.

At this stage of the game, I really don't expect that much from Monk. I smile at the fully realized central character, and enjoy his "here's what happened" as much as Columbo's "one more question." However, I think the summer season showed an uptick in the quality of the show, despite the mysteries being even easier to figure out. I was dreading the "Monk is hypnotized into thinking he's a child" finale, which actually surprised me by making me laugh out loud. And the 100th episode, where they revisited his 100 cases solved via a tabloid TV show conceit was particularly inspired. B

Psych strayed from the formula a bit this season, offering more insight into Shawn's background and childhood, and actually became a richer show while still offering the requisite silliness and pop culture riffs. Juliet is an underrated hottie and my only complaint was the lack of screen time for Lassiter. B+

I haven't yet watched the season finale of Burn Notice, so I'm not sure exactly how they wrapped up the season long arc with Six, er Carla, and her machinations of Michael. But the second season built on everything that we liked about the show in the first place (action, droll voice-overs, spycraft 101, deadpan humor, plenty of Bruce Campbell's Sam Axe) and delivered an even better showing. A

Law & Order: CI had an uneven summer. Some of the plot twists were patently ridiculous and it was clear that the departing Chris Noth was phoning it in. D'onfrio is always interesting, however, and I welcomed the return of the eminently adorable Megan Wheeler as Logan's partner. Next season, she'll be paired with Jeff Goldblum (of the underwatched and underappreciated Raines) who should bring an extra level of quirk to the show. I like the acerbic Eric Bogosian as the captain, and the season finale, featuring the return of Bobby's brilliant mentor and his longtime nemesis Nicole Wallace, was spectacular. B

Eureka, thus far, has been hit and miss. Many have objected to the blatant product placement from Degree, but working in the marketing field, I certainly understand the advantages of having some extra cabbage to support the show, and it doesn't bother me. I adore Ever Carradine, but don't really see what she adds to the show and I've found the whole "corporate conspiracy" with Eva a bit tedious. They also said goodbye to one of my favorite Eureka characters (and his dry, withering wit) Nathan Stark. Still, Colin Ferguson's anchoring performance keeps me tuned in, but I was hoping for more. C+

I gave up on Saving Grace. I appreciate the skill, fearlessness and ferocity of Holly Hunter's performance, but the whole show just kind of loses me. A bunch of rednecks getting drunk and solving crimes, infused with a bit of the supernatural? Damn, it sounds good, but it just doesn't work for me. D

We're still in the middle of Mad Men's run, but Holy Shit! is this show good. Easily among the top five shows on television, Mad Men continues to be a hallmark of stellar and subtle acting, writing, storytelling, directing and production values. A trenchant commentary on social mores, gender relations and commerce, Mad Men is a classic for the ages and absolutely must watch television every single week. A+

The Closer was all over the map this season, and in a good way. (Yes, as a southerner, I'm still bugged by Brenda Leigh's accent). We've had harrowing, heart-wrenching episodes and frothy, funny episodes (like the one with Provenza being hired as an undercover hit man) and they all pretty much delivered a solid, well-crafted hour of procedural entertainment. The ensemble is among TV's best, and I can never get enough JK Simmons on my tube. A

I've always watched the Stargate shows, though I've never been as passionate about them as I am with other genre fare, like Firefly, Trek, BSG, Farscape and the like. Still, it saddened me a little when Stargate Atlantis got cancelled, even though I understand the economics behind it. For an hour of sci-fi escape, you could do worse (Painkiller Jane, anyone? Or Flash Gordon? Arrrrggh). McKay (especially), Keller, Zelenka, Beckett, Ronin and the newly added Woolsey are all entertaining characters, even if Sheppard's hair bugs me (could Footloose's Ren have been in the military? Don't think so. Get thee to an interstellar Flowbee). But the replicator-redux storylines, along with the totally boring villains (how could you make "space-vampires" less interesting?) made this less than appointment viewing. C+